Friends of 

William O. Hocking, Jr. Memorial Environmental Award

2019 Recipient: Tessa Gafuri, Mansfield High School

2018 Recipient: Sage Ganshirt, Oliver Ames High School

2017 Recipient: Taylor Samuels, Mansfield High School

2016 Recipient: Sarah Mullahy, Mansfield High School

2015 Recipient: Benjamin Jankowski, Mansfield High School

2014 Recipient: Nora Wells, Mansfield High School

2016 recipient Sarah Mullahy, with family and Scholarship Committee

Awarded to a graduating high school senior from Foxboro, Sharon, Easton or Mansfield.  The goal of this award is to honor the memory of Mr. William ( Bill ) O. Hocking, Jr. who was an involved and passionate advocate for the Park and local resources. Bill served as a member of the Citizens Advisory Council for the Park to the State for nearly 40 years since the Park’s creation in 1972 often as the Council’s chairperson. He was a dedicated volunteer, avid outdoorsman, naturalist, mentor, aspiring geologist and mushroom enthusiast, who could often be found “playing” outdoors.

Assisting in preserving and interpreting the natural and cultural resources of Borderland State Park